Spicy Chicken & Bean Stew

Spicy Chicken & Bean Stew

I’ve recently been getting into spicier food, thanks to my other half – The Boss – who likes his food hot. I love anything with chicken – it’s my favourite meat – and coriander is my favourite herb, so this was an easy choice when I was looking for something to last us over several dinners.

I’ve made this recipe many times because it’s therapeutic to prep, easy to cook and freezes really well. The beans make it super satisfying and filling and the rich tomato based sauce is the perfect base for lots of peppers, garlic and chilli. With some fresh rye or sourdough bread on the side and a dollop of sour cream or Greek yoghurt, it’s also one of the most satisfying dinners I could wish for at any time of year.

I usually add more chilli than the recipe specifies and if you like it super hot, you could add some green chillies too. I like to add an extra couple of red ones and I leave the seeds in.

1¼kg chicken thighs and drumsticks (approx. weight, we used a 1.23kg mixed pack)
1 tbsp olive oil
2 onions , sliced
1 garlic clove , crushed
2 red chillies , deseeded and chopped
250g frozen peppers , defrosted
400g can chopped tomatoes
420g can kidney beans in chilli sauce
2 x 400g cans butter beans , drained
400ml hot chicken stock
small bunch coriander , chopped
150ml pot soured cream and crusty bread, to serve

Pull the skin off the chicken and discard. Heat the oil in a large casserole dish, brown the chicken all over, then remove with a slotted spoon. Tip in the onions, garlic and chillies, then fry for 5 mins until starting to soften and turn golden.

Add the peppers, tomatoes, beans and hot stock. Put the chicken back on top, half-cover with a pan lid and cook for 50 mins, until the chicken is cooked through and tender.

Stir through the coriander and serve with soured cream and crusty bread.

One thought on “Spicy Chicken & Bean Stew

  1. After looking over a number of the blog posts on your website, I honestly appreciate your way of blogging.

    I saved as a favorite it to my bookmark site list and will be checking back in the near future.
    Take a look at my website too and let me know how you feel.

Leave a Reply

